State Central Committee

State Central Committee

State Central Committee:

Roster for SCC members, attendance records*, agendas and upcoming meetings calendared can be found on the UTGOP website or you can click here to the direct link for information:

* State Central Committee members please note: Upon any member of the State Central Committee missing three State Central Committee meetings per term for any reason, that member shall be considered to have resigned. [UCRP Bylaw 3.D.]

State Central Committee Members:

(Revised 10/13/2017)

UCRP Chair & Vice-Chair (Bylaw 3.B.1.)

UCRP Chair:  Rob Craig
Leo LinesUCRP Vice-Chair :  Josh Daniels

Senate Districts are in order of highest preference vote to lowest:

SD7- 4 seats

Marcus Jessop
Carolina Herrin
Kari Malkovich
Scott Ward

Tamara Atkin
David Herring
Lisa Shepherd
Clayton Tullis

SD11, 24, 27- 2 seats

Roger Timmerman
Beth Luthy

SD13 – 4 seats

Wendy Baggaley
Renee Braddy
Heidi Balderee
Leah Hansen

Don Southworth II
Kevin Braddy
Jeff Allen

SD14- 5 seats

By Acclamation
Lowell Nelson
Kraig Thorne
Kristen Chevrier
Nels Beckstrand
Kirby Glad

SD15 – 4 seats

Arturo Morales-Llan
Peggy Burdett
Cole Souza
Don Monson

John English
Josman Cereceres

SD16 – 3 seats

Stan Lockhart (Resigned/Moved) effective 8/26/2017
Chris Herrod
Norm Thurston
Mike Melendez (replaced Stan Lockhart) effective 8/26/17

Leo Lines
Noelia Anduray
Joey Smith
Craig Frank

Allocation by District

Districts 7: 4

Districts 11, 24, 27: 2

District 13:4

District 14: 5

District 15: 4

District 16: 3

Bylaw 3

C. Vacancies. Vacancies arising from death, resignation, or any other cause, shall be filled by the next highest eligible vote recipient from the list of candidates who ran for a seat on the State Central Committee and received a majority vote in the same Senate District at the previous County Organizing Convention. In the case of a tie, a coin toss will decide the one to whom the seat will be offered. If the list of candidates who received a majority vote has been exhausted, the vacancy will be filled by the County Executive Committee. Names for consideration shall include anyone who in writing prior to the next Executive Committee meeting indicates interest in serving, and nominations from any member of the Executive Committee. All nominees shall reside in the Senate District in which the vacancy occurs. The Executive Committee shall approve a replacement who shall fill the unexpired term. The selected person shall serve pending ratification by the County Central Committee at its next meeting.

D. De Facto Resignation. Upon any member of the State Central Committee missing three State Central Committee meetings per term for any reason, that member shall be considered to have resigned, and shall be replaced according to the provision above on filling vacancies.

Method of allocation:

Utah County Republican Party
URP Central Committee Seat Allocation for 2017
Finalized on Friday, March 31, 2017, by UCRP Education Officer Lowell Nelson
Column: D E F G H J K
SD Votes RRS, % 22 spd rem left Seats SD
7 107,165 17.63% 3.879 3 0.879 1 4 7
13 121,896 20.05% 4.412 4 0.412 4 13
14 136,093 22.39% 4.926 4 0.926 1 5 14
15 97,841 16.10% 3.541 3 0.541 1 4 15
16 82,439 13.56% 2.984 2 0.984 1 3 16
11+24+27 62,392 10.26% 2.258 2 0.258 2 11+24+27
Totals: 607,826 100.00% 18 4 22
Column D RRS (percentage): votes cast in district, divided by votes cast in county
Column E Number of the 22 seats that the district earned (RRS * 22)
Column F Whole number part of Column I (no rounding), seats per district (mpd)
Column G Remainder, after subtracting the integer part of the number (rem)
Column H Manual allocation of leftover seats to the next strongest districts (left)
Column J Total number of seats allocated to the district (spd + left = Seats)
Column K Same as column A, provided for ease of reference
Combining the three smallest/weakest districts helps to minimize the size of the caucuses, even though the three smallest districts may not be geographically adjacent to each other.